Trademarks Attorney in Minneapolis, Minnesota

Categories of Marks

Minneapolis trademark lawyer David D’Zurilla describes the variety of categories of marks.

More In This Category

View Transcript

What are the categories of marks? The categories of marks are arbitrary, suggestive, descriptive and generic. An arbitrary mark is known as your strongest mark and that is a mark that has no connection to the good or service. For example, a camel. A camel has nothing to do with cigarettes, but it’s a mark using connection with cigarettes and it’s a very well known and strong mark.

A suggestive mark suggests some connection to the product, but still is not descriptive. Chicken of the Sea, it has a suggestive nature to it. It’s food. It comes from the sea. A descriptive mark describes the good or services and as rule they are not register able or it can function as a trademark, because everyone should be allowed to describe what their goods are and the qualities of their goods. And a generic is really not a mark at all. It’s just the name of a good. That’s a football. That’s a basketball. No one can use it as a trademark, because it’s the identity of the good.

More Videos From This Lawyer