How much will it cost to have a workers’ compensation lawyer on my case?
Hopkins, MN personal injury attorney Joshua Laabs discusses what someone might have to pay when pursuing a workers’ compensation claim and hiring an attorney.
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (952) 473-4530
The legislature was really smart when they developed the Workers’ Compensation Act in Minnesota, and they made it so you don’t have to pay up front and you don’t have to pay as you go if you hire an attorney for a workers’ compensation claim in Minnesota. And not only that, the attorney only gets paid if they make a recovery on your behalf. And then, it’s even capped. It’s capped at 20 percent of the dollars that we win for our clients through settlement or through judgment. So the cost to you is nothing up front, nothing as you go, and nothing unless we get a recovery for you, so it’s extremely low-risk and low-charge to a client to have an attorney. Now what I tell people is any attorney is better than no attorney, but what we try to do is set ourselves out to be better, to help people better, so that way the value of that cost, that 20 percent at the end of the day, is maximized for that client.