What Is The Ignition Interlock System In Minnesota?
Minneapolis DUI Lawyer David Valentini discusses how the ignition interlock system works in Minnesota.
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (612) 341-0900
On July 1, 2011, Minnesota implemented the first version of the ignition interlock statute. It was changed for July 1, 2012, because the legislation wasn’t quite complete. So for a one-year period of time, on a first-time DUI, if your test was below a 0.2 and you entered a plea of guilty, after a 30-day license revocation you could get your license reinstated without ignition interlock. That gap was closed for the second version that took – and current version that took effect on July 1, 2012.
So if you’re in a circumstance where you – it is required that you go on ignition interlock, a first-time DUI of a 0.160 or greater or a second-time DUI, you go on ignition interlock. There are a number of companies in Minnesota that are ignition interlock providers. You have to pass a knowledge test; pay a $680.00 license-reinstatement fee; fill out an ignition interlock application; provide to the commissioner of public safety from your insurance company, not your agent, that your vehicle is insured; and then you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
The price for a device varies from approximately $80.00 a month up to about $125.00 a month, plus you have to pay an installation fee. The minimum period of time that your license will be revoked is one year of ignition interlock, so it can become expensive.